Skip to main content

SGMC Neonatologist Receives Top Honor

Posted on: November 14th, 2012

South Georgia Medical Center neonatologist Dr. Christopher Young was recently named recipient of the Young Physician of the Year Award for the Georgia Chapter of the American Academy of Pediatrics. This honor is awarded each year to an AAP Georgia Chapter member under the age of 40 who has made an outstanding contribution in pediatrics. This contribution may include research, improving access to care, developing model programs for care, service to the AAP Chapter or child advocacy. Dr. Young was specifically recognized for his involvement in national AAP activities through the Section on Perinatal Pediatrics, his chairmanship of the Trainees and Early Career Neonatologists (TECaN) group and his involvement with local and state agencies in an effort to decrease the infant mortality rate in the local area and state at large.