Find a Physician

Hospital Authority

As a public hospital, an eight-member Hospital Authority governs SGMC. Both the City Council of Valdosta and the Lowndes County Board of Commissioners appoints the representatives who serve on the Authority. Each group appoints four representatives who each serve a 5-year term. Authority members are community leaders who serve the hospital voluntarily. It's a labor-intensive job for which no Authority member receives any monetary compensation.

In terms of governance, the Authority has the ultimate decision-making ability when it comes to the hospital. The Authority is subject to the Hospital Authorities Law of the Code of Georgia.

Notification of Open Meeting of the Hospital Authority

Regularly scheduled meetings of Hospital Authority occur on the third Wednesday of each month at 9:30am in the SGMC Executive Board Room unless otherwise posted. Meeting notices are posted on the first floor of the main campus near the mailroom.

Hospital Authority of Valdosta and Lowndes County Members

William S. Cowart, Chairman
E. Cameron Hickman, Vice Chairman
John W. Langdale, Jr.,  Treasurer
Sam Allen, BA, M.Ed., Ed.S.
Lynne Feldman, M.D., MPH
Gregory Powell
Mary Margaret Richardson, RN, MSN, Ed.D.
Bill Rountree